Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, the time has come to say goodbye to our old life.  If you have been following my blog and this journey for a while you will know that it started about two years ago now on a little trip down to Geelong to visit our Grandchildren and on return we both realised the dread in the pit of our stomachs was our souls crying out for a change. That trip was the beginning of the turning point for the rest of our life (you can read the full post here titled ‘The Journey unfolds‘ Dec 8 2012).

Looking back, I have always loved that our life has been a series of little adventures. Marrying a soldier meant we were packing up our house every two years or so to set off to a new place to live. I never minded this at all. In fact, I can distinctly remember that two year itch  I would feel when it was nearly time to pack up house again. When the kids were young we always found the fun side of this and loved the newness of exploring different towns and getting to know what was around.  We never did get bored, always found something to keep us occupied.  That is one of the loveliest memories of our early married days and still today, we love to get out and explore new places, new surroundings but when it was time for both children to head to high school we were happy to put roots down and settle in one place.  That is when we found our perfect little house in Watsonia and spent twelve years there while the kids grew up. I actually never thought we would leave this house and was in the middle of renovating it to a beautiful little cottage, but life had other plans for us which all began on that trip back from Geelong…

This new path we are now on makes us feel alive, makes us feel like we belong here but now has come the time to start closing some doors, particularly on that little house in Watsonia.  Its a cathartic feeling really, saying a final goodbye to a life I spent most of my growing up years in.  Melbourne has been my home for all of my life but I know now that my new home has become the place where my heart is most happy. Our new place which I have dubbed ‘my beach retreat’ gives me peace and harmony amidst the still stressful days of long commutes, something I am praying the sale of the home will help me rectify.

Over the years I have come to learn something about myself and that is I am noise sensitive and love the quiet life, no traffic, less rushing, no stress, in fact searching for peace has become a ritual for me, it soothes my soul and that is how I wish the rest of my life to be.  In order for us to fully move on we must close the door on Melbourne which meant selling our family home. For me, as I take care of the financial side of things, juggling two mortgages for the past 2 years has been very stressful so to see the back of one of them  will make me smile and give me back my freedom.  My freedom to choose where I work and at what salary. To be tied to a job I no longer feel passion for has been a hard act to swallow but financially I have not been able to let it go. I am looking forward to the day I will be free to make different choices.

So… sometimes in life you just have to move on, accept that the picture you had in your mind did not make it to your future and know that a new picture will emerge, most times so much better than you could ever have imagined…its often not until you close those doors that a new door will open and you never look back.

For now, its the in between time, we have not sold our old home yet but its on the market just waiting for that new owner to walk through its doors which means when a new door is opening for them, its closing for us and the light at the end of the tunnel is beginning to get a little bit brighter as I look forward to what is now on its way…

So Farewell ‘Medbury’ you bought us something we never thought we would have, a family home, a place of solitude and love where my children felt safe and grew up knowing what a ‘family home’ meant, you taught me the feeling of our ‘sanctuary’ and what that meant to me after a hard day , you taught me that I love the comforts of a family home, the beauty of living with quality home furnishings such as beautiful leadlight and shutters and I thankyou for that, but most of all I  thankyou for giving us our future, a new spark to live out the rest of our days, you helped us realise our dream down by the sea where we intend on enjoying and will never take for granted just how we got here…

balck and white blossom    IMG_9812

 

beautiful leadlight     IMG_9868-001

We have much to look forward to as the end of this year is approaching.  Its our 25th Wedding anniversary year and we have not been able to celebrate yet because of putting the house on the market, but once it sells we will have much to celebrate.  I have plans for ‘silver’ presents for both of us and a wonderful belated honeymoon to share in Tasmania which we could not afford to do all those years ago.

I feel we have now come full circle, finally living in a place we dreamed about in our early marriage and spoke of nearly every year since, 25 years later going on our honeymoon to the same place we were heading to but had to pull out – I cant wait to be on that plane and driving to the very special accommodation for us… this time I have something really wonderful in store…

Because I truly believe…

