I am currently uncluttering my life. I have written about this before but it keeps reappearing in ‘my things to do’ so I think I have more uncluttering to go.

By saying this, I mean I am shredding as I go, items, things, memories, journals & ‘stuff’ which has followed me from my past as well as a few bad habits which are long overdue of being dumped.  Some memories I shall keep are those which will be with me always, certain photos, particularly of the children prior to digital cameras and family trinkets I have from my parents. Some other memories though, I have decided it is time to part with, wash away and send on their merry way.

I have been slowly uncluttering my life since I arrived at mybeachretreat.  We have been here two years now and I have finally got to the part where I have been able to tackle my clothes and bedroom.

With all the travel I have done over the past 2 years I never had time for these activities and the thought would just make me feel more tired so most weekends I either went out or sat around reading, writing or relaxing which is what I needed to do at that time.

Now that I have added more hours to my day I have found new time and energy to complete the rest of the house. Recently I started on my wardrobe. Seeing as I have added a few kilos to my post menopausal frame, those size 10 and some 12 items in there were just taking up space and I was buying more clothes which did not have anywhere to go.  It was time for a reality check – I’m never going to wear those size 10’s again, get real and get rid of them.

Its really quite funny when you have always been stick thin all your life to suddenly have your body change shape – even your feet and its quite a revelation and a bit of a shock to the system that I thought I would be thin forever. I have signed up to participate in the Global Corporate Challenge in the hope I can loose a few of these newly acquired kilos but that will be so I can fit into the few of the size 12 items I left in there and just feel a bit better within myself. (I will let you know how it goes).

More importantly what I did come across in that wardrobe was an unopened cardboard box I had carried up from Melbourne.  Not remembering what was in there I opened it to reveal two journals full of my writing and letters/emails given to me during a most painful time we went through as a family, a period which took three years of my life to unravel and get through emotionally.  As I sifted through those journals, I felt my heart beat a little faster, I felt the anger and tears of that period of our lives all over again and as I recalled the pain those heart felt words spelt on the pages, I realised that those memories had long since left me and had been washed away by the contentedness of our current state of being.

It made me think, what is the purpose of dragging bad memories into your present when I had done so much hard work to heal? There is no point, rehashing bad days especially when I have created this whole new world for us to move forward into. So out they must go, the journals, the memories and the tears.  Our lives, all of our lives are so much more uncomplicated now. We know what we want going forward which is a life of peace and trying to find joy in the simplest things, living uncluttered lives.

I have found living with less is a lot calmer and it seems to create an energy which is clear, clean and beautiful.  I leave each morning for work now making time to make my bed, appreciating the crisp linen, beautiful throws and new furniture I have bought.  Its such a lovely feeling now to be able to acknowledge the beauty around me and feel special each day instead of just existing which I now realise I had been doing.

homedecor-floral-whites-ranuncul

Since selling our home in Melbourne (another thing which has uncluttered my mind and life), I have gotten rid of a whole heap of stuff I have been carrying around for decades. I have bought myself new bedroom items, a new bed from Provincial Home Living one of my favourite home-wares store, a beautiful blanket box to place all the pillows and cushions which used to get tossed on the floor and a swanky new leaning bookcase, both from Early Settler which creates more room as it leans onto the wall, very minimalist indeed. If you havent peeked into this store in a while, check it out, its full of beautiful homewares at great prices! I nearly outfitted my whole cottage from this store alone.

IMG_1842  IMG_1855 IMG_1866  IMG_1870 IMG_1871 IMG_1872    IMG_1876

I have discovered that once you decide to unclutter and really be serious, getting rid of anything which no longer suits your style, serves you in anyway or just takes up space when you could have something more meaningful or useful in its place, toss it, give it away or store it in the garage if you really cant bear to part with it – as long as it remains out of your daily space.  I have kept only the most important books dear to me, the rest I can borrow from the local library instead of having many bookcases in the house with books I might read every couple of years or never again.

Uncluttering clears your mind and soul, and makes room for what is meant to be in there without fighting for the space among all the other chatter. If you only have things you use or love surrounding you, life becomes a little bit free-er and more beautiful.

There is plenty written about simplifying and uncluttering your life.  On searching for something to share I came accross this blog post by Joshua Becker who is an expert author on this subject : http://www.becomingminimalist.com/the-10-most-important-things-to-simplify-in-your-life/

My personal favourite, number 10, stop multitasking, Joshua writes: “Research indicates that multi-tasking increases stress and lowers productivity. while single-tasking is becoming a lost art, learn it. Handle one task at a time. Do it well. And when it is complete, move to the next.” When you are multitasking, you are not doing any of the jobs well, just focus on one thing at a time and get it done properly, then move on to the next – such simplicity coming back, when did our lives become so damn complicated?

As I get older I am learning that doing things the way everyone else deems is the best way is often not the way it suits me or my stress levels so I now go with my own flow and my own speed and am perfectly happy living an uncluttered life. Try it and see…

