Here we are once again at the end of another amazingly quick and full year! This year in particular rushed by as I began my new job in a dream location only 26 minutes from home after commuting to Melbourne and back for the past 2 years. Finally, all my hard work paid dividends and I have ended up exactly where I put out my intention on this exact day 12 months ago…

Isn’t life just so amazing that we can intend or commit to something so strongly in our minds that if you pursue this pure thought and never get sidetracked, never listen to those who tell you it cant be done, never doubt for one second that it cant be done, it works, it all comes together because that’s the law, that’s the law of attraction in full fireworks…and when it does come together, the feelings of accomplishment it creates are soooooo magical….

I feel that as each year goes by I am getting a bit better at this thing we call life which is great because I am more than halfway through it!. I am finally learning from mistakes and not repeating them over and over again.  I believe if I take the time to write down my plans, take solid steps each and every day towards the outcome of what I want to see in our lives, then it will show up and that’s an incredibly exciting place to begin a new year….

So, as I sit here tonight contemplating a whole new year before me and planning for those things I want to see most in 2016, I proudly look back at what I managed to accomplish in 2015 – and can safely say that all my beautiful family and friends I have loved in 2015 are still with us to love and share our lives in 2016.

In 2015 – 

I Quit Sugar and managed to get my cravings under control while losing 6 kilos in the process.  I have fallen off the wagon a bit over Christmas as we do but know enough now to not let it run my life, and can easily get back to normal once this holiday period is over. I have not gained back any weight, and am just focusing on remaining steadily at a healthy weight for my age.

I took up walking, and joined the Global Corporate Challenge at work, a great achievement for me as I really was a bit of a couch potato. Any chance I got to grab a book, I would rather sit and read rather than move, so I know this has inspired me to thinking wherever I can to move more, now I do.  Next year I have already told a lady at work I will be joining her twice a week for a 45 min walk and aerobic stairs workout plus I aim to catch the bus each day which means a 10 minute walk to and from morning and night.

I began to really spend time meditating and have found the peace in this ancient practice along with the realisation it really can change your life, for what you want outside begins with visualizing it on the inside first. This practice is going to become a daily new habit for me in 2016.

And of course, my beautiful little cottage was built and painted. This was an incredible gift from my husband to me who shares my vision of making our beach retreat the most beautiful we can. We are planning now to begin changing some of the inside of our home in 2016, there will be more painting and new flooring and bench tops for our kitchen finally.

So overall, did I have a good year?  On the surface it looked great but the truth be told, its been a challenging one, full of wake up calls and reminders that life can change in an instant, but the main thing I learnt from this year is I absolutely chose the right life partner; he never lets me down, ever.  He is my rock, my best friend and my confidant and when life throws me curve balls, he is the one I turn to who I can sit and ponder, and work out where to next… we are a great team and I am very blessed to have him in my life.

Today, I received an email on the stats of this blog for 2015, I don’t usually share this information but as I read it I thought, wow, there are so many of you out there who I will never personally know, but who are connected by the sharing of my little stories and this is truly an amazing feeling. This little blog which began as a creative outlet for me while I was at a job which did not hold my passion, just a sharing of my thoughts, of things I have learnt over time and gives me great joy to write, share and spread a little wisdom, has had over 900 views in 2015.  Wordpress, the platform I write this blog on informed me:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 900 times in 2015. If it were a cable car, it would take about 15 trips to carry that many people.

Most visitors came from Australia. The United States & European Union were not far behind. According to WordPress I also get visitors from Romania, Thailand, Poland, Italy, Germany, France, Begium, Austria, Poland, United Kingdom, South Africa and Canada!
I find these stats incredibly humbling and am continually amazed at how we can all be connected, influenced and inspired by each other across the globe.  I am incredibly grateful to you all who take a moment out of your own busy lives to read about what has been happening at mybeachretreat.
My deepest wish is that by my sharing my life in this way, it may help to plant a seed in your life, to stretch you a bit more or perhaps send a message to not be afraid to go after what you want, this is why I share what I have learned as I believe that we can all make a difference in each others lives by sharing our stories with each other, as we are all in this life together but learning life skills at different paces and in different circumstances.
So I would like to leave you with my most precious moment but before I do, I wish you all a beautiful close to 2015.  Stay safe, enjoy the night and I hope to see you all back again next year with more mybeachretreat stories.
My most precious moment of 2015 was a clear winner this year, my husband being told by his doctor that he has had a stroke unbeknownst to either of us.  From that moment our lives have been changed, the line has been drawn, to no longer be complacent.
We learnt with that rude diagnosis that there is no more time to just eat what we like, it was a very harsh reality but such a lucky break that we were told in time before something could have happened to him.  Bill’s doctor told us it was not a matter of ‘if’ but ‘when’ he would have had a fatal heart attack or stroke.  To date my husband has lost 10 kg and plans to loose more in the New Year.  Once he decided that he did not have a choice, the changes in lifestyle became easy for him.
What a beautiful, beautiful gift we were both given that day….a chance to change the direction of our lives and I for one, cannot wait for 2016 to see what we can create in the coming new year!
Bless you all, as I sign off this 75th blog post,
you keep me smiling, you really do 🙂
Happy New Year!!!!!
